Spring 2010 Preview: Hope for the Best

Greetings readers. It’s been a long time since I last updated this blog, and I apologize to all of you who like reading about my point of view on anime. With the winter season wrapping up, I am looking forward to many of the new shows coming next season. The problem is, I have many reasons to doubt many of these new shows. Because of that, there are only a handful which I am sure I will watch all the way through to the end. So continue on brave reader.

Must Watch:

Heroman: I may not have mentioned it before, but I am a huge fan of Marvel comics. Because of this, I was sold on this series the moment I read Stan Lee was involved with the project.  Because its premise is essentially the same as giant robot shows like Gigantor or Giant Robo, I am hoping for a tribute to the old school with some shiny new animation. I find the art interesting as it reminds me of the art of “Sentinel Salvage,” a comic that had a heavy manga influence.

Arakawa Under the Bridge: Despite how fucking mediocre Dance in the Vampire Bund is, I have faith that SHAFT will be able to pull this one off better as it’s more of a wacky comedy. The original promo art I saw had a man with a Stratocaster and a star for a head, so I don’t think any studio can fuck up something that awesome. Except for DEEN.

RAINBOW: In a world of typical moe bullshit, comes a dark, depressing story of teenagers in prison. I look forward to some difficult to watch scenes that will likely make some of my wimpier friends cry.

K-ON!!: Nothing exemplifies aforementioned typical moe bullshit that Kyo Ani’s latest cash cow K-ON. I feel guilty about how much I enjoyed the first season, but at the same time this is the show I’m looking forward to most next season. I’m curious how far they plan to take the story as the manga hasn’t reached graduation yet. There are likely to be a bunch of new stories, but considering how good the original material was in the first season, I have no complaints here.

House of Five Leaves: I’m sold on the character designs alone. I’m a sucker for cool looking shows. The story seems like a good change of pace for me as well.

Yojo-han Shinwa Taikei: Since I’m graduating from college in June, a series about college reminiscence seems appropriate for me. It’s also from the director of Mind Game, which is one of the trippiest movies I’ve ever seen.

Black Rock Shooter: I’m not as big of a Vocaloid fans as some otaku are, but the preview shown at Animelo 2009 sold me with its cool art and character designs.

Gurren Lagann Parallel Works 2: After seeing how unbelievably good the Lagann-hen movie was, I want to see more from the GL universe. The first Parallel Works was mostly good, so I expect similar quality from this.

Hopefully not Crap:

B Gata H Kei: After watching Kampfer, I developed a taste for bad anime. There’s something fun about watching a show knowing that there will be nothing but fanservice and tits. With this show, I’m hoping for something really mindnumbing. However, if I don’t see boobs in the first episode, I will drop it like it’s hot.

Kaichou wa Maid-sama: I don’t know why I expect this to be good. It’s a pretty generic manga being adapted by JC Staff, the kings of generic productions. I don’t think it will be good in the least, but I’m hoping for at least a laugh.

Angel Beats: The premise is interesting, the character designs are sharp, and there is guaranteed violence. The catch: Jun Maeda of KEY is writing it. This is a major turn off for me since basically everything he writes is the same emotional drivel. Although I’m curious how he will be able to have a girl with a terminal illness if all the characters are already dead.

Ichiban Ushiro no Dai Maou: I’m curious about this only because the main dude looks like a badass. It’s very likely to be shit, but I’m willing to give it a chance anyways.

Giant Killing: I’m not a huge soccer fan, and DEEN is kind of a shitty studio. Why do I want to watch this then? Because the title sounds hardcore. That’s the only reason why I want to watch this.

Working!: I saw the preview episode a few weeks ago, and I was amused by it. It wasn’t original in the least, but it seems competent to say the least. I’ll probably drop it if the humor gets stale or it tries to force drama.

Senko no Night Raid: I am only doubting this series because of how mediocre Sora no Woto was, and this show is succeeding it in it’s “Power of Anime” time slot. Because of Sora no Woto, I learned that no matter how interesting a premise sounds, if the execution is crap, the show will be crap.

Kiss x Sis: I expect a steaming pile of fanservice shit with this one. If this and B Gata H Kei both disappoint me, I will be very sad this season.

That’s it for next season. I’m a little sad to see that the Iron Man anime was delayed. Maybe this was done so it will start airing while Iron Man 2 is in theaters. As for this season, I have to say I’m pretty disappointed. Sora no Woto started strong, but ended weak, and failed to explain the history of their world. To Aru Kagaku no Railgun had a predictable ending, but it was a good watch while it lasted. Dance in the Vampire Bund probably had the best first episode of any show I’ve seen in a long time. Unfortunately, this was the best part of the series, and the rest follows the manga to the letter with very minimal changes. The only good shows in my opinion were the surprisingly good Baka Test, and unsurprisingly awesome Durarara. Ladies vs Butlers started and ended as shit as I expected so I have no complaints for that either.

So at the moment, I pretty much decided to stay at my school to do a Masters and reapply for grad school afterward. I’m not looking forward to doing all the paperwork again, but I gotta do what I gotta do. Have a good weekend.

4 Responses to “Spring 2010 Preview: Hope for the Best”

  1. Heh, you and I have fairly similar opinions about most of these shows. I’m particularly looking forward to House of Five Leaves and Arakawa under the Bridge. I also agree that Sora no Woto is a bad omen for Senko no Nightraid.

    Oh, and best wishes for grad school. This is a good time to stay in school, because the economy sucks.

  2. Yep, I also was surprised by baka to test. It is so absurd! The perfect show to watch after working all day. By the way, I am a PhD student, so I hope you will enjoy your Master and Graduate school, because it is quite hard work.

    (still, always some minutes to watch some anime, right?)

Leave a Reply

